ISO 9001 is a standard that sets out the requirements for a quality management system.


(a) Needs to indicate its ability to consistently provide product or services that meets customers and related statutory & regulatory requirements, and

(b) Commits to increase customer satisfaction index by the effective application of the system, including all processes for continual improvement of the system & the assurance of not to occur non conformity for the product or services.

The ISO 9001:2015 standard requirements are generic and are intended to be applicable to any organization, regardless of its type or size, or the products and services it provides.

The most noticeable change to the standard is its new structure. ISO 9001:2015 now follows the same overall structure as other ISO management system standards (known as the High-Level Structure) & another major difference is the focus on risk-based thinking.

The most recent ISO 9001:2015 standard is constructed around seven quality management principles:

  1. customer focus
  2. leadership
  3. engagement of people
  4. process approach
  5. improvement
  6. evidence-based decision making
  7. relationship management

ISO 9001:2015 Std contains 6 concepts are as followed:

  1. Integration of Risk Management
  2. Resource Management
  3. Systematic problem solving and learning
  4. Voice of the customer
  5. Knowledge management
  6. Measures (examples are performance, satisfaction and ROI.)

Benefits of ISO 9001:2015 :

Enhancing continuous improvement
This standard ensures the alignment & integration of QMS to your objectives.

ISO 9001:2015 drives greater involvement in organization’s QMS by Top Management which assist in motivating employees towards the stated goals and strategic objectives.

Managing risk
ISO 9001:2015 also introduces ‘risk-based approach’. It focuses the organizational resources, on the areas which are most likely to cause concern.

Performance Measurement
Effective performance measurement and self-governance can result in higher levels of innovation, employee loyalty, and customer satisfaction; as well as superior financial performance.

At first glance, the new high level structure common to all new and revised management system standards.